TREC is here to support the environmental community as we all face the new challenges presented by COVID-19. See our resources and stay up to date.
Loading Events

« All Events

TREC Workshop Series | Fundamentals of Supervision 4

December 14 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm MST

Workshop 4: Ethical Stewardship of Power

Wednesday, December 14th | 2:00pm-4:00pm MNT

Presented by: Kristi Chester-Vance, TREC Contractor

Power is fundamental to leadership and all human interactions. It is woven through every aspect of our work and social lives showing up in formal roles and authority, relationships, communication, and virtually every interaction. As common and ubiquitous as it is, it can also be poorly understood, under and over emphasized, or used and abused. Often, it is spoken about in a negative connotation. In this session, we look at how when leading we are granted power and take power, as well as give power, and through it all, have the opportunity to empower.

Register Today!

Presenter Bruce Passmore’s bio: Bruce’s (he/him) work at TREC focuses on building the capacity of organizations through training and consulting. He started with TREC as a contract Associate in 2021 and brings his practice of centering diversity, equity and inclusion into all parts of organizational development and growth. He views transition as a time of excitement and as an opportunity for creativity and growth. Born as a settler on the unceded territory of the Tsartlip Nation on southern Vancouver Island and raised exploring the lands and waters of the Salish Sea, Bruce has always had a strong connection to the natural world. Bruce completed a Bachelor of Science in Wildlife Biology from the University of Guelph and a Masters in Peace and Conflict Studies from Royal Roads University. He has spent the past 25 years building his toolbox through working as a researcher, educator, and Executive Director. This includes working with individuals, organizations, and governments in North America and internationally to strategically develop policies and practices that advance social justice and environmental goals. Bruce’s passion for nurturing a better planet includes supporting people who face multiple barriers. He volunteers on numerous barrier reduction projects and initiatives, including coaching Para-Nordic skiers.

*This webinar is made possible by the generous support of Wilburforce Foundation and is offered free of charge.

Details

Date:
December 14
Time:
4:00pm - 6:00pm EST
3:00pm - 5:00pm CST
2:00pm - 4:00pm MST
1:00pm - 3:00pm PST
12:00pm - 2:00pm AKST
Event Categories:
, ,
Website:
https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZ0pd-2grDMiHt3U-atiquGtPMPxA9rk4PAg

Organizer

TREC