TREC is here to support the environmental community as we all face the new challenges presented by COVID-19. See our resources and stay up to date.

Untitled

Loading Events

« All Events

TREC Webinar | Navigating Elections in Unprecedented Times

October 26 @ 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm MDT

TREC Webinar | Navigating Elections in Unprecedented Times

Monday, October 26th | 1:00 PM-2:00 PM Mountain Time

Presenter: Tim Mooney, Senior Counsel, Bolder Advocacy Program at Alliance for Justice

The 2020 U.S. presidential election was always supposed to be a bruising contest with a handful of states determining the winner based on a razor-thin margin of votes. Now, the confluence of this generational election with barriers to voting being erected through state and federal officials’ words and actions, all amidst a global pandemic, means there is a chance that we may have a contested post-election period this country hasn’t experienced in two decades. If history is any indication, nonprofits will play a critical role in nonpartisan voter engagement and education. In this webinar, you will learn more about what your organization can do before, during, and even after Election Day.

Register Today!

ABOUT TIM MOONEY:
Tim Mooney is senior counsel with the Bolder Advocacy Program at Alliance for Justice. He provides one-on-one technical assistance for nonprofit advocates, teaches nonprofit and election law workshops and writes on these issues for Bolder Advocacy publications. This is his second tour with Alliance for Justice, having previously served as senior counsel from 2001-2006.

Tim began his legal career as co-founder and counsel for Columbia Riverkeeper, working to protect and restore the largest watershed in the Pacific Northwest. Following his first five years with Alliance for Justice, Tim was senior counsel at Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington. He spent the next decade as general counsel and director of operations for Tranquil Space yoga studios and later consulted on legal, tech and business operations for entrepreneurs and nonprofits. Tim serves on the board of directors of Pigs & Pugs Project, a charity that supports pig sanctuaries and pug rescue organizations.

Tim earned his B.S. in Environmental Studies from Syracuse University/SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry and his J.D. from Pace University School of Law.

This webinar is made possible by the generous support of Wilburforce Foundation and is offered free of charge.

Details

Date:
October 26
Time:
3:00pm - 4:00pm EDT
2:00pm - 3:00pm CDT
1:00pm - 2:00pm MDT
12:00pm - 1:00pm PDT
11:00am - 12:00pm AKDT
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7992705574824900880?source=trec.org

Organizer

TREC

Other

Timezone
Mountain

Venue

Webinar